Corporate govenrnance

The corporate governance system in KMG ensures proper management and control of activities, and aims at increasing long-term value and sustainable development.

Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development.

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE IN KMG

Consulting stakeholders on economic, environmental and social topics

In KMG, there are various ways of communication, which allow to properly build a dialogue with stakeholders and the company, and in the prescribed manner to bring their content to KMG BoD. Thus, discussion of problem issues with a shareholder is carried out within the framework of the meetings of the Board of Directors and its Committees through representatives of the shareholder who are members of the BoD and its relevant committees. In addition, members of the Board regularly meet with potential investors in the road show. In addition, the BoD carries out communications with stakeholders through the organization of such work through structures directly subordinate to the BoD – the Corporate Secretary, the Ombudsman, the Internal Audit Service, the Compliance Service. On a monthly basis, information on sustainable development is included in the report of the Chairman of the Board.

Receipt of feedback is carried out by discussing problem issues at meetings of the Board and its Committees, meetings of the Chairman and members of the BoD with the CS, Ombudsman, IAS and Compliance.

Executive level responsibility for economic, environmental and social topics

Responsibility for solving economic, environmental and social problems is assigned to the respective heads of the blocks for strategy, finance, human resources management and labor and environment protection, which in turn report to the Chairman of the KMG Management Board. The issues are submitted for consideration to the members of the Management Board, Committees of the Board of Directors and the Board of Directors on a regular basis in accordance with plans and schedules for consideration.

Responsibility for sustainable development in KMG is distributed in the following order:

Corporate Governance in Subsidiaries

Note: Information on SDEs whose shares (participatory interests) are owned directly or indirectly by KMG are prepared by analyzing the existing corporate governance system in KMG group companies that significantly affect KMG’s activities. These companies are represented both in the organizational and legal form of the joint-stock company (AO) and limited partnership (LLP). The list of the main SDEs included in the perimeter of the analysis: KazMunayGas EP JSC, KazTransGas JSC, KazTransOil JSC, AR LLP, PPCP LLP, PKOP LLP.

Delegation of authority

Delegation of powers from the head of the Executive Body to other employees of SDEs is usually carried out on the basis of an order on the distribution of duties or provisions on the powers of the company’s management (for internal use) and powers of attorney (representing the company’s interests to third parties).

Responsibility of the executive power in SDEs for economic, environmental and social issues

In all SDEs that have entered the perimeter of the analysis, there are separate management positions, whose competence includes making decisions on economic, environmental and social issues (usually the level of deputy heads of the executive body). These officials are directly subordinate to the first head of the executive body.

Interaction in SDEs on economic, ecological and social directions of development

Among the SDEs that have entered the perimeter of the analysis, the procedure for consultations on economic, environmental and social issues between stakeholders and the supreme body of corporate governance is available at KazTransOil JSC. In order to identify and select stakeholders in the company, an analysis of the internal and external environment is conducted on an annual basis. Thus, the relationship between the company and individuals whose interests are affected by the company’s activities, as well as having or considering that they have legitimate requirements for certain aspects of the company’s activities are analyzed. Based on the results of the analysis, the list of stakeholder groups of the Company is reviewed and updated. Powers for consultations are not delegated.

KMG is developing an action plan for sustainable development in the framework of improving the corporate governance system on an annual basis. In addition to monitoring the activities of the Company in implementing measures for the three components of sustainable development, KMG is committed to:

conducting open and transparent activities, taking into account respect for human rights;

respect for the interests of stakeholders through regular meetings;

intolerance to corruption and violations of corporate ethics;

introduction of environmentally friendly and energy-saving technologies throughout the entire production cycle;

development and implementation at the corporate level of the KPIs for sustainable development;

involvement of youth councils with the aim of their active participation in the promotion of sustainable development in the KMG Group of companies;

continuous improvement of the competence of managers and employees in the field of sustainable development;

preparation of the company’s annual report on sustainable development in line with the requirements of the GRI Standards.

KPI System for Sustainable Development

In order to promote the principles of sustainable development, the Board of Directors has a decisive responsibility for promoting the principles of sustainable development. BoD of KMG:


  • Controls implementation of the Company’s Strategy based on analysis of short-term and long-term efficiency.
  • Determines the importance of sustainable development principles for the Company and ensures their effective communication to all stakeholders.
  • Actively reviews the principles of corporate governance, social issues and ecology enshrined in the Code when forming the Company’s strategy, business plan and investment strategy.
  • Ensures a clear link between sustainable development activities and the Company’s strategic goals.
  • Conducts analysis and approves key principles for sustainable development in the Company and its subsidiaries.
  • Monitors the Company’s performance in the field of sustainable development by establishing appropriate efficiency and monitoring the achievement of targets.
  • Monitors implementation of the sustainability program throughout the Group.

Our key performance indicator for the functional of sustainable development is the achievement of the following main criteria:


  1. The Company ensures the consistency of its economic, environmental and social objectives for long-term sustainable development, which includes the growth of the Company’s long-term value.
  2. The Company implements a system that allows consistent and continuous follow the principles of sustainable development.

Corporate Governance Diagnostics

In 2017, KMG conducted a diagnosis of corporate governance, which resulted in a rating for the “Sustainable Development” component. The corporate governance diagnostics for sustainable development in KMG included performance analysis in all relevant functional areas, including risk management, planning, human resources management, investments, operations, safety and health, environmental protection, corporate security and procurement management.


Example from practice

Diagnostics of Sustainable Development in KazMunayGas

On October 6, 2017, JSC NC “KazMunayGas”, chaired by Vice President for Strategy Assiya Narymanovna Syrgabekova, held a working seminar of JSC NC “KazMunayGas” (KMG) on the implementation of the Samruk-Kazyna (SK) Reference Model for Sustainable Development for Samruk-Kazyna JSC portfolio companies. More than 35 managers representing representatives of KMG structural units took part in the seminar, the goal of such an event was facilitating the implementation of sustainable development with the participation of independent consultants of PriceWaterhouseCoopers (PWC).

The concept of sustainable development in KMG, as a national oil and gas operator, in the economic and social well-being of Kazakhstan is unique, as is the Company’s contribution to global initiatives for sustainable development. At the seminar, representatives of the PWC spoke about the SK project on implementation of the reference model of sustainable development, as part of a comprehensive transformation program for the second half of 2017. Benchmarking of the world’s best practices of leaders of the oil and gas sector on sustainable development management was held, as well as presentation of the vision and approach of the SK to sustainable development. Also within the framework of the facilitation session, the employees conducted a group exercise to identify the main aspects of sustainable development, their assessment of the importance for the KMG Group of companies and the formation of a matrix of significant aspects. Such a method is a collection of the collective opinion of internal stakeholders, whereas for an objective compilation of a complete matrix, it is also planned to conduct a survey on an external group of interested parties in the future.

Корпоративное управление

Система корпоративного управления в КМГ обеспечивает надлежащее управление и контроль за деятельностью, и направлена на рост долгосрочной стоимости и устойчивое развитие.

Содействие построению миролюбивых и открытых обществ в интересах устойчивого развития, обеспечение доступа к правосудию для всех и создание эффективных, подотчетных и основанных на широком участии учреждений на всех уровнях.

Структура корпоративного управления в КМГ

Взаимодействие по экономическим, экологическим и социальным темам

В КМГ имеются различные способы коммуникаций, которые позволяют надлежащим образом выстраивать диалог с заинтересованными сторонами и Компанией, а также в установленном порядке доводить их содержание до СД КМГ. Так, обсуждение проблемных вопросов с акционером осуществляется в рамках заседаний СД и его Комитетов через представителей акционера, являющихся членами СД и соответствующих его комитетов. Наряду с этим, члены СД на регулярной основе осуществляют встречи с потенциальными инвесторами в рамках роуд-шоу. Наряду с этим, СД осуществляет коммуникации с заинтересованными лицами посредством организации такой работы через структуры, непосредственно подчиняющиеся СД – Корпоративный секретарь, омбудсмен, Служба внутреннего аудита, Служба комплаенс. На ежемесячной основе информация об устойчивом развитии включается в отчет Председателя Правления.

Получение обратной связи осуществляется путем обсуждения проблемных вопросов на заседаниях СД и его комитетов, встреч Председателя и членов СД с КС, омбудсменом, СВА и комплаенсом.

Ответственность исполнительной власти за экономические, экологические и социальные направления развития

Ответственность за решение экономических, экологических и социальных проблем закреплена за соответствующими руководителями блоков по стратегии, финансам, управлению человеческими ресурсами и охране труда и окружающей среды, которые, в свою очередь, подчиняются Председателю Правления КМГ. Вопросы выносятся на рассмотрение членов Правления, комитетов Совета директоров и Совета директоров на регулярной основе в соответствии с планами и графиками рассмотрения.

Ответственность за устойчивое развитие в КМГ распределяется в следующем порядке:

Корпоративное управление в дочерних организациях

Примечание: Информация о ДЗО, акции (доли участия) которых прямо или косвенно принадлежат КМГ, подготовлена путем анализа существующей системы корпоративного управления в компаниях группы КМГ, существенно влияющих на деятельность КМГ. Данные компании представлены как в организационно-правовой форме акционерного общества (АО), так и товарищества с ограниченной ответственностью (ТОО). Перечень основных ДЗО, вошедшие в периметр анализа, с указанием уровня принадлежности КМГ и доли владения: АО РД «КазМунайГаз», АО «КазТрансГаз», АО «КазТрансОйл», ТОО «АНПЗ», ТОО «ПНХЗ», ТОО «ПКОП».

Передача полномочий

Делегирование полномочий от руководителя исполнительного органа иным работникам ДЗО осуществляется, как правило, на основании приказа о распределении обязанностей или положения о полномочиях руководства компании (для внутреннего пользования) и доверенности (представление интересов компании перед третьими лицами).

Ответственность исполнительной власти ДЗО за экономические, экологические и социальные темы

Во всех ДЗО, вошедших в периметр анализа, имеются отдельные руководящие должности, в компетенцию которых входит принятие решений по экономическим, экологическим и социальным вопросам (как правило, уровня заместителей первого руководителя исполнительного органа).

Взаимодействие в ДЗО по экономическим, экологическим и социальным направлениям развития

Среди ДЗО, вошедших в периметр анализа, процедура проведения консультаций по экономическим, экологическим и социальным проблемам между заинтересованными сторонами и высшим органом корпоративного управления имеется в основных ДЗО. В целях выявления и отбора заинтересованных сторон в компании на ежегодной основе проводится анализ внутреннего и внешнего окружения. Так, анализируются взаимоотношения компании и лиц, интересы которых затрагиваются в рамках деятельности компании, а также имеющих или считающих, что они имеют законные требования в отношении некоторых аспектов деятельности компании. По результатам анализа пересматривается и обновляется перечень групп стейкхолдеров Общества. Полномочия по проведению консультаций не делегируются.

КМГ разрабатывает план мероприятий по устойчивому развитию в рамках совершенствования системы корпоративного управления на ежегодной основе. Помимо мониторинга деятельности Компании по исполнению мероприятий по трем составляющим устойчивого развития, КМГ стремится к:

ведению открытой и прозрачной деятельности с учетом соблюдения прав человека;

уважению интересов заинтересованных сторон путем проведения регулярных встреч;

нетерпимости к коррупции и нарушениям корпоративной этики;

внедрению экологически чистых и энерго­сберегающих технологий на протяжении всего производственного цикла;

разработке и внедрению на корпоративном уровне КПД по устойчивому развитию;

привлечению молодежных советов с целью их активного участия в продвижении устойчивого развития по Группе компаний КМГ;

непрерывному повышению компетенции руководителей и работников в области устойчивого развития;

подготовке ежегодного отчета Компании об устойчивом развитии в соответствии с требованиями GRI Standards

Система КПД для устойчивого развития

В целях продвижения принципов устойчивого развития, Совет директоров несет определяющую ответственность за продвижение принципов устойчивого развития:

  • следит за реализацией Стратегии Компании на основе анализа краткосрочных и долгосрочных КПД;
  • определяет значение принципов устойчивого развития для Компании и обеспечивает их эффективную коммуникацию со всеми заинтересованными сторонами;
  • активно рассматривает закрепленные в Кодексе принципы корпоративного управления, социальных вопросов и экологии при формировании стратегии, бизнес-плана и инвестиционной стратегии Компании;
  • обеспечивает четкую привязку мероприятий в области устойчивого развития к стратегическим целям Компании;
  • осуществляет анализ и утверждает для Компании и ее дочерних организаций ключевые принципы в области устойчивого развития;
  • ведет мониторинг эффективности деятельности Компании в области устойчивого развития путем установления соответствующих КПД и мониторинга достижения целевых показателей;
  • ведет мониторинг реализации программы в области устойчивого развития по всей группе.

Ключевым показателем эффективности деятельности по функционалу устойчивого развития является достижение следующих основных целей:

  1. Компания обеспечивает согласованность своих экономических, экологических и социальных целей для долгосрочного устойчивого развития, которое включает рост долгосрочной стоимости Компании.
  2. В Компании внедрена система, которая позволяет последовательно и непрерывно следовать принципам устойчивого развития.

Диагностика компонента «Устойчивое развитие»

В 2017 году в КМГ была проведена диагностика корпоративного управления, по итогам которого был присвоен рейтинг по компоненту «Устойчивое развитие». Диагностика корпоративного управления в части устойчивого развития в КМГ включала анализ эффективности во всех соответствующих функциональных направлениях, включая управление рисками, планирование, управление человеческими ресурсами, инвестиции, операционную деятельность, безопасность и охрану труда, охрану окружающей среды, корпоративную безопасность и управление закупочной деятельностью.


Пример из практики

Диагностика устойчивого развития в КазМунайГаз

6 октября 2017 года в АО «НК «КазМунайГаз» под председательством вице-президента по стратегии Сыргабековой Асии Нарымановны состоялся рабочий семинар АО «НК «КазМунайГаз» (КМГ) по вопросам внедрения Референсной модели по устойчивому развитию АО «Самрук-Қазына» (СК) для портфельных компаний. В семинаре приняли участие более 35 руководителей – представителей структурных подразделений КМГ, целью проведения такого мероприятия являлась фасилитация процесса внедрения устойчивого развития с участием независимых консультантов компании PriceWaterhouseCoopers (PWC).

Концепция устойчивого развития в КМГ, как национального нефтегазового оператора, в экономическом и социальном благосостоянии Казахстана уникальна, как и вклад Компании в глобальные инициативы по устойчивому развитию. На семинаре представители PWC рассказали о проекте СК по реализации Референсной модели устойчивого развития, в рамках комплексной Программы трансформации, рассчитанного на второе полугодие 2017 года. Был проведен бенчмаркинг наилучших мировых практик лидеров нефтегазового сектора по управлению в области устойчивого развития, а также презентация видения и подхода СК к устойчивому развитию. Также в рамках фасилитационной сессии работники провели групповое упражнение по выявлению основных аспектов устойчивого развития, их оценке на предмет значимости для Группы компаний КМГ и формированию матрицы значимых аспектов. Такой метод представляет собой сбор коллективного мнения внутренних заинтересованных сторон, тогда как для объективного составления полной матрицы в дальнейшем планируется проводить социальный опрос и по внешней группе заинтересованных сторон.